Bayerischer Schwimmverband

Water polo has been played in Germany since 1894 before the first German championship was held in 1912. Two Bavarian clubs can also be found in the list of German champions. In 1953, Bayern 07 Nürnberg became the first club from Bavaria to become German champions. In the 1970s they were followed by the 5-time German champions SV Würzburg 05 (’70, ’74, ’76, ’77, ’78), who also won the German Water Polo Cup in 1978.

11 teams from Bavaria are currently taking part in Germany, with SV Weiden 1921 and SV Würzburg 05 in DWL (1st Bundesliga) Group B and SG Stadtwerke München in the 2nd Bundesliga South.In the youth field, a Bavarian team takes part in the U18 Bundesliga, which is alternately provided by the clubs in the youth field, from Munich, Nuremberg, Weiden or Würzburg.Since 2019 there has been a BSV state water polo base with a full-time trainer in Nuremberg. The aim of the base is to bring very good and talented players from Bavaria to the national team and thereby establish the Bavarian clubs at the top of German water polo.In the long term, the goal is to rebuild the water polo division and to make the team sport popular and successful.

BSV will make its debut at TOMO 2022. It will play in U-12 and U-14 categories.